Biomim'Invest

Revealing, evaluating, supporting and developing bio-inspired impact companies and innovations.

Network of investors, coaches and entrepreneurs of the Bio-Inspired Economy.

A new multidisciplinary circle serving future innovations launched at the Biomim'expo Digital Week in December 2020.


The project

To create a permanent circle of experts and industrial, financial, public and academic stakeholders to bring together a set of financial and technical resources to identify, promote, support and finance the creation, emergence and development of innovative projects with high potential environmental and social impacts, providing new solutions to the challenges of resilience, and based on the emerging approach of bio-inspiration or biomimicry


Press release

28 October 2021

Biomimicry startups are raising millions.

The first cohort of innovative French companies in Biomim Deeptech (bio-inspired innovations with impact) raised

450 million.

For the first time, the study carried out by the innovation agency NewCorp Conseil provides the first ever assessment of the weight of biomimicry in the fundraising market and confirms the interest of investors in bio-inspired innovations. This interest has been confirmed by the recent success of the 6ème Biomim'expo 2021 and by the words of the President of the Republic evoking "a hidden continent of innovation". (Assises de la Mer, Nice, 15 September 2021)



The projects of interest to Biomim'Invest are from the the great family of "bio-inspirationThis means that they derive new ideas from the study, observation and understanding of living organisms at multiple scales (from molecular interactions to the equilibrium conditions of large ecosystems, from multifunctional surface structures to modes of production and communication).

These projects draw lessons from life to propose virtuous innovations to protect, preserve and improve living conditions on Earth, for humans and the biosphere as a whole

Since the origin of bio-inspiration, which poses the principles of life as a model for design, production and organisation, Biomim'Invest projects of interest can take on the following forms different forms of transfers and applications: up to the ability to mimic the living through technical solutions or organisational models, through the other ramifications of the living as a model, such as biosourcing, biocontrol or the family of nature-based solutions.

The issue

For some decades now, the planet is in a state of health emergencyThe environment, in terms of natural resources, biodiversity and climate, has deteriorated considerably as a result of human activities, which have led to multiple forms of pollution and climate disruption, mainly due to very high greenhouse gas emissions, which could eventually pose a direct threat to the presence of humans on earth.

The Covid-19 crisis is only the revelation of the disastrous effects - for the health of the human species - of this continuous degradation of its own biotope.

What if the new paradigm had always been in front of us?

This situation has contributed to push some visionary scientists and actors, such as the American biologist Janine Benyus, to apprehend the living as a potential source of solutions to these different issues.

Based on the principle that life is the world's first laboratory with its 3.8 billion years of R&DBiomimicry is emerging as a disruptive approach with great potential, reversing the political, ecological and economic paradigm to place living matter as a capital of knowledge and a source of technological and organisational inspiration, and not just as a stock or a setting to be preserved.

Emerging today a new generation of innovations able to apply these principles of life in response to a series of favourable situational accelerators.

A favourable economic climate

Thanks to the rapid development of knowledge of living organisms, technological tools and several economic accelerators (NewCorp Conseil's "Biomim'Factor 12" analysis), Biomimicry is experiencing a major boomThis is the result of a combination of technical innovations and advances, as well as the ability to response and resonance with the expectations of reconnection and resilience of our time.

The cyclical basis for a solid, long-term boom.  

The rise of biomimicry

Since the mid-2010s, this sector has been developing in France, under the joint impetus of the CeebiosThe Ceebios ecosystem is made up of a large number of partners, including political and public stakeholders, the scientific and academic community, major forward-thinking private groups, and a first circle of expert partners, including the specialised agency NewCorp Conseil, which has accompanied the Ceebios and the entire ecosystem since its inception.

A recognised player positioned at the epicentre of the academic, political and industrial ecosystem, the agency NewCorp Consulting is specialised in institutional strategy and communication, CSR and biomimicry; took the initiative to create the event Biomim'expothe first biomimicry meeting; develops monitoring of bio-inspired innovations; created the first directory of biomimicry players; launched a competition for bio-inspired projects; and knows very well the entrepreneurial ecosystem of biomimicry.

Biomim DeepTech, already > 450 million

From an economic point of view, biomimicry has not escaped the new dynamic of fundraising in many fields of activity, despite the rather long duration of research for companies developing products, materials or services that are mainly scientific in nature.

For several years, through its networking and innovation monitoring work, NewCorp Conseil has been identifying this first generation and constantly enriching its specialised database.

Since 2014, the first cohort of innovative French Biomim Deeptech companies has raised 450 million euros. The first study ever carried out by NewCorp Conseil on the occasion of the launch of Biomim'Invest provides an initial assessment of the weight of biomimicry on the fundraising market and confirms investors' interest in bio-inspired innovations. (details in the pdf)

A true "bio-inspired generation" of project leaders is emerging.

An opportunity to enhance value and communication.

Financial, academic, political and industrial players are also looking for projects with impact, compatible with their values, positioning and strategic projects, and attractive and surprising "stories" with strong powers of seduction and mobilisation.

These actors are often unknown today, and are looking for meaning and coherence between their projects. Biomimicry allows us to take an interest in all sectors, while keeping a line, a strong coherence through the transversality and multisectoriality of the scientific and technical approach.

Biomim'Invest is also intended to be a communication tool, capable of highlighting an ecosystem of players determined to support future projects based on the innovative and emerging approach of biomimicry.

The 5 main benefits of the collective approach

See more

By taking advantage of the mutualisation and enrichment of a team watch. We also look at things with our own habits, our own reading keys, our own biases, our own tools, etc. Biomim'Invest offers a richer but also more reactive watch thanks to the varied contributions and cross-views.

Broadening the spectrum

Looking beyond one's own research fields and usual cultural or sectoral criteria. Being surprised by the thematic and conceptual enlargement. Discovering promising approaches that might not have been seen. Biomim'Invest proposes to provoke the hybridization of ideas through the hybridization of sources and inputs.

Better evaluation

Through the mix of skills of the group and the complementarity of performance criteria. Biomim'Invest offers to take advantage of a collegial and plural expertise.

Accelerate

Our times are impatient and eager for new solutions. Save time by searching, evaluating and accompanying together. Accelerate through collective emulation. Biomim'Invest also proposes to save time for project leaders and researchers by providing them with a one-stop shop for their development.

Leverage effects

Promising projects will have a better chance of success and deployment with the support of stronger, more cohesive and ambitious partners with converging interests. For premium participatory financing, where individual interests benefit from the interest and resources of the whole.

How it works



Respond to the call for expressions of interest and join the circle.

Contact NewCorp Conseil


Next page: DeepTech news watch

Biomim’Invest

Révéler, évaluer, accompagner et développer les entreprises et innovations bio-inspirées à impact.

Réseau d’investisseurs, accompagnateurs et entrepreneurs de l’Economie Bio-Inspirée.

Un nouveau cercle pluridisciplinaire au service des innovations d’avenir lancé lors de la Biomim’expo Digital Week en décembre 2020.


Le projet

Créer un cercle pérenne d’experts et de parties prenantes industrielles, financières, publiques et académiques pour rassembler un ensemble de ressources financières et techniques pour repérer, valoriser, accompagner et financer la création, l’émergence et le développement de projets innovants à forts potentiels d’impacts environnementaux et sociaux, apportant des solutions nouvelles aux enjeux de résilience, et basés sur l’approche émergente de la bio-inspiration ou biomimétisme.



Les projets d’intérêt pour Biomim’Invest sont issus de la grande famille de la « bio-inspiration », c’est-à-dire qu’ils tirent des idées nouvelles de l’étude, de l’observation et de la compréhension des organismes vivants, et ceci à de multiples échelles (des interactions moléculaires aux conditions d’équilibres des grands écosystèmes en passant par les structures multifonctionnelles de surface ou encore les modes de production ou de communication).

Ces projets tirent des enseignements du vivant pour proposer des innovations vertueuses au service de la protection, de la préservation et de l’amélioration des conditions de vie sur Terre, de l’homme et de l’ensemble de la biosphère

Depuis l’origine de la bio-inspiration posant les principes du vivant comme modèle de conception, de production et d’organisation, les projets d’intérêt Biomim’Invest peuvent prendre différentes formes de transferts et d’applications : jusqu’à la capacité à mimer le vivant à travers des solutions techniques ou modèles d’organisation, en passant par les autres ramifications issues du vivant comme modèle, comme par exemple le biosourcing, le biocontrôle ou la famille des solutions basées sur la nature.

L’enjeu

Depuis quelques décennies, c’est la planète qui est en état d’urgence sanitaire, sur le plan des ressources naturelles, de la biodiversité et du climat s’est considérablement dégradé sous l’effet des activités humaines qui ont provoqué de multiples pollutions et un dérèglement climatique lié principalement aux très fortes émissions de gaz à effet de serre, pouvant à terme menacer directement la présence de l’homme sur terre.

La crise Covid-19 n’est que le révélateur des effets désastreux – pour la santé de l’espèce humaine – de cette dégradation continue de son propre biotope.

Et si le nouveau paradigme avait toujours été sous nos yeux ?

Cette situation a contribué à pousser certains scientifiques et acteurs visionnaires comme notamment la biologiste américaine Janine Benyus à appréhender le vivant comme source potentielle de solutions à ces différents enjeux.

Partant du principe que le vivant est le 1er laboratoire au monde avec ses 3,8 milliards d’années de R&D, le biomimétisme se révèle comme une démarche de rupture à très fort potentiel, inversant le paradigme politique, écologique et économique pour placer le vivant comme capital de connaissances et source d’inspirations technologiques et organisationnelles et pas seulement comme un stock ou un décor à préserver.

Emerge aujourd’hui une nouvelle génération d’innovations capables d’appliquer ces principes du vivant en réponse à une série d’accélérateurs conjoncturels favorables.

Une conjoncture favorable

Grâce au développement fulgurant des connaissances du vivant, des outils technologiques, et de plusieurs accélérateurs conjoncturels (analyse « Biomim’Facteur 12 » de NewCorp Conseil), le biomimétisme connait un essor important, tant par ses innovations et avancées techniques que par sa capacité de réponse et résonance avec les attentes de reconnexion et de résilience de notre époque.

Le socle conjoncturel d’un essor solide et de long terme.  

L’essor du biomimétisme

Depuis le milieu des années 2010 ce secteur se structure en France, sous l’impulsion conjointe du Ceebios, de parties prenantes politiques et publiques, de la communauté scientifique et académique, de grands groupes privés avant-gardistes, et d’un premier cercle de partenaires-experts au sein duquel l’agence spécialisée NewCorp Conseil, qui accompagne depuis l’origine le Ceebios et l’ensemble de cet écosystème.

Acteur reconnu positionné à l’épicentre de l’écosystème académique, politique et industriel, l’agence NewCorp Conseil est spécialisée en stratégie et communication institutionnelle, RSE et biomimétisme ; a pris l’initiative de créer l’événement Biomim’expo, le premier rendez-vous du biomimétisme ; développe de la veille sur les innovations bio-inspirées ; a créé le premier annuaire des acteurs du biomimétisme ; a lancé un concours de projets bio-inspirés ; et connait très bien l’écosystème entrepreneurial du biomimétisme.

La Biomim DeepTech, déjà > 450 millions

Sur le plan économique, le biomimétisme n’échappe pas à la nouvelle dynamique des levées de fonds, dans de nombreux domaines d’activité et ce malgré la durée plutôt élevée des recherches pour des entreprises développant des produits, matériels ou services d’essence majoritairement scientifiques.

Depuis plusieurs années, par son travail de réseau et de veille en innovation, NewCorp Conseil a recensé cette première génération et enrichit constamment sa base de données spécialisée.

Depuis 2014 la première cohorte d’entreprises innovantes françaises de la Biomim Deeptech a levé 450 millions d’euros. La première étude jamais encore réalisée par NewCorp Conseil à l’occasion du lancement de Biomim’Invest dresse une première évaluation du poids du biomimétisme sur le marché des levées de fonds et confirme l’intérêt des investisseurs pour les innovations bio-inspirées. (détail dans le pdf)

Une véritable « bio-inspired generation » de porteurs de projets est en train de naître.

Une opportunité de valorisation et de communication.

Les acteurs financiers, académiques, politiques et industriels cherchent aussi des projets à impacts, compatibles avec leurs valeurs, positionnements, projets stratégiques, et des « histoires » attractives et surprenantes, aux forts pouvoirs de séduction et de mobilisation.

Ces acteurs sont bien souvent aujourd’hui méconnus, et en recherche de sens et de cohérence entre leurs projets. Le biomimétisme permet de s’intéresser à tous les secteurs, tout en gardant une ligne, une forte cohérence par la transversalité et multisectorialité de la démarche scientifique et technique.

Biomim’Invest a aussi pour vocation d’être un support de communication, capable d’apporter un coup de projecteur sur un écosystème d’acteurs décidés à accompagner des projets d’avenir sur l’approche elle-même innovante et émergeante du biomimétisme.

Les 5 grands bénéfices de la démarche collective

Voir davantage

En profitant de la mutualisation et de l’enrichissement d’une veille d’équipe. Nous regardons aussi avec nos habitudes, nos clés de lecture, nos biais, nos outils … Biomim’Invest propose une veille plus riche mais aussi plus réactive par les contributions variées et les regards croisés.

Elargir le spectre

En regardant au delà de ses propres champs de recherche et des ses critères habituels, culturels ou sectoriels. Se laisser surprendre par l’élargissement thématique et conceptuel. Découvrir des approches prometteuses qui n’auraient peut-être pas été vues. Biomim’Invest propose de provoquer l’hybridation des idées par l’hybridation des sources et des inputs.

Mieux évaluer

Par la mixité des compétences du collectif et la complémentarité des critères de performance. Biomim’Invest propose de profiter d’une expertise collégiale et plurielle.

Accélérer

Notre époque est impatiente et avide de solutions nouvelles. Gagner du temps en cherchant, en évaluant et en accompagnant ensemble. Accélérer par émulation  collective. Biomim’Invest propose aussi de faire gagner du temps aux porteurs de projets et aux chercheurs en mettant à leur disposition un guichet unique au service de leur développement.

Effets de levier

Les projets prometteurs auront plus de chances de succès et de déploiement par le support de partenaires plus solides, soudés et ambitieux, aux intérêts convergents. Pour un financement participatif premium, où les intérêts individuels profitent de l’intérêt et des moyens de l’ensemble.

Le mode opératoire



Répondez à l’appel à manifestation d’intérêt et rejoignez le cercle.

Contactez NewCorp Conseil


Page suivante : veille d’informations sur la DeepTech